finding the most convenient option

From finding the most convenient option to the risks involved with each, there is no doubt that there are benefits and drawbacks to both methods. However, I have leaned towards the side that doesn’t support Geordie’s decision. I believe that he should have gone with the second option rather than the first. Here are my reasons: Although bank loans give you the ability to budget and get a big sum of money at once, how Geordie was going to pay back the bank loan should be put into consideration. Geordie needed the finance to build the start-up; the premise will cost $400, 000 and the refurbishment cost will be $120, 000. Already these two bills have a sum of $520, 000; this causes troubles as this number is more than the amount the bank offered to loan him ($500, 000 without interest). This means that Geordie would have to pay the remaining through personal savings. This would not be convenient to him as he also needs enough money to pay daily expenses such as food, shelter (rent), house bills and many other things. He also might have a family or want to in the future, this would mean the previous expenses would increase and additional costs to take care of children would be added. If Geordie was to pay the remaining money through personal savings, it would limit the amount spent on daily expenses. This would make things very tight for him (and maybe his family). This amount doesn’t include the 4. 5% interest that would increase the price to around $522, 500, making things even tighter. With a venture capital, Geordie doesn’t have to pay back the money as the venture capitalist would have a certain share in the business. This is one of the main reasons why Geordie didn’t make the right decision. The second reason that drew me to this side was finances post-startup. His cash flow forecast predicted sales of $0. 7 million and a running cost of $0. 47 million in the first six months. This would mean that Geordie would make $0. 23 million in profits. This is great news however this number is only predicted and isn’t one hundred percent accurate. What will happen if running costs are higher than expected? What if the demand for this type of product decreases suddenly? What will happen if the customer isn’t happy with the product given and asks for them to redo? What if their supply line got cut off suddenly? These factors needed to be considered and were a very big risk to Geordie’s business. Geordie was optimistic about the idea and had thought it through thoroughly. However, Geordie needs to identify how strong his plan is and consider what will happen if things don’t go according to plan. If things do go wrong, they still need to repay the bank since they still demand the loan to be paid. This would make things more difficult for Geordie and is one of the biggest disadvantages of bank loans. The last explanation for my thoughts is the huge advantage of having a venture capitalist. Venture capitalists are well connected in the business world, especially in this case with the venture capitalist having experience in the construction industry. This means that they can introduce and bring more customers and businesses, which will increase the profits for Geordie. One of the biggest disadvantages of having a venture capitalist is that they normally require a certain amount of stake in the business. In this case, the venture capitalists have 49% stake and Geordie will have 51%. The advantageous 2% shows that Geordie would have more power and control over the decision making. Therefore, he would still have some control over the business. This is another reason why Gerodie should have chosen the second option. Both were great options that offered huge benefits; the first option gave the privilege to budget and to get large sums of money quickly and the second gave us the services of having a venture capitalist and has lower risk overall. Ultimately, I believe that the venture capitalist outranks the bank loan due to the advantages of having a venture capitalist, not having to pay the money back whilst still having control over the business