Fewer schools are requiring children to learn and improve their handwriting skills. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

Schools are the legal institutions designed to teach our children about some certain topics, for example, mathematics, physics, social sciences, and etcetera. School is not only a place to gain some extensive knowledge, but also a place to build and develop our children’s abilities on teamwork, empathy, and confidence. Moreover, while our children are learning about these topics, they are also being taught to elevate their handwriting skills when they are fulfilling their duties to finish their homework. Therefore, our children are gaining knowledge as well as improving their handwriting skills. Nowadays, the phenomena that less schools are requiring children to learn and elevate their handwriting skills are quite massive due to the rise of advanced technologies, such as laptops and smartphones. Alas, this trend has more disadvantages compared to its merits. Previously, schools are requiring their students to have a great writing skill. This skill has enormous merits to our children, for example, improving their vocabularies, structures, and styles in their writing. However, the advancement of technologies is making some schools to gradually stop in improving our children’s handwriting skills. This is because handwriting skills are being replaced by typing skills which are built in most laptops. Children can easily ‘write’ their sentences by typing their words onto a software called Microsoft Words. In the current era, most schools are persuading their children to submit their paper or homework via online that has been written on Microsoft Words. To sum up, laptops have in-built keyboards which are convenient for our children to ‘write’. Thus, fewer schools are requiring their children to learn and improve their handwriting skills due to the advancement of technologies, such as laptops.