Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport constuction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations. Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily.

The amount of air traffic drastically rising over recent years around the world results in several environmental problems. One of the major factors has been an increase of low-cost airlines. Whilst many suggest that government should raise the tax on air transportation to alleviate the problem, I think this is not a resilient solution and might cause other issues. First of all, to increase airline taxes in merely fixing the problem at the end of the note. If there are no regulations placed strictly on airport constructions, many aviation businesses may not have awareness of the impact of construction on environments and only focus on gaining more profits. To illustrate, there was one of the airports in my country which was constructed on the former wetlands against a lot of criticism by intention to establish the world-class international airport. Even if this case brought skeptical aspects towards the government, there have always been similar projects being proposed so many times. Furthermore, including tax may cause a higher flight ticket cost and subsequently lead to other traffics issues. This solution can ease the air traffic in short term, but it contributes to traffic congestion during holiday season. Take New Year holiday in the past for example. When low-cost airlines were limited, there were many people who could not afford flight tickets traveling by personal cars or land transports which caused heavy traffics over the period of vacation. In conclusion, there are several reasons why introducing high tax may not the right way to solve the problem at its root and potentially results in heavy land traffic. I believe that we can explore the alternative ways that allow us to enjoy low-cost flights and reduce issues simultaneously.