Fast food restaurants have become widespread in most metropolitan areas around the world. Why is fast food so popular? What effect are they having on people’s lifestyle today?

These days, fast food restaurants are born to serve busy people and have become famous in both developed and developing countries across the globe. There are lots of reasons to explain why fast food is so well-known and many effects on people’s lives, especially traditional cuisine, and people’s bodies. Fast food gains popularity thanks to two reasons: its widely-loved taste and convenience. It is obvious that fast food is famous because of its fried dishes. The crunchy, crispy crust in these dishes is hard to resist for most people. Moreover, fast food stores also have lots of drinks and desserts to serve to young people. It is also very time-saving and convenient for people who do not have much time to cook and prepare meals or those who are bored with ordinary meals at home. Instead of waiting fifteen to thirty minutes to be served at a regular restaurant or spending an hour to cook, they can drive through the fast-food stores and have a ready meal served in less than ten minutes. Fast food restaurants affect people’s lifestyles a lot. Firstly, they affect the traditional cuisine and eating habits of people around the world since they were established. More people coming to these places means traditional restaurants are losing customers. In the long run, this could lead to local cuisines becoming lost. Secondly, many fast-food dishes have added sugar and are high in salt and trans fat. If consumed in a large amount over a long period of time, this will lead to heart problems, obesity, and diabetes. In conclusion, although fast food has been widespread and played a major role in our life, it badly affects the health and fitness of people.