International sports event easing the internation tension

International sporting events are not only very intense but also very entertaining. If you take a glance at the recent Olympics Tokyo 2020 where many countries have come to one place and are competing with the world's best of the best. Every player giving their best to win a medal for their country and make their country proud. Football is one of the most played sports in the world and in this case the EURO 2020 London, Italy vs England where Italy defeated England in the penalties from 3-2 which was a very heated match, both the teams played extremely well but the best team won. Fans and players of England got emotional with their defeat but they never started abusing the Italy fans and players instead they started applauding for their win with true sportsmanship. The players of both the teams shaked hands and were seen discussing their mistakes. Nevertheless not all lines are straight nor everything is perfect, there was some tension between the fans outside the stadium by the supporters of England and Italy. For that data I want to conclude that Yes, international sporting events soften the international tensions but the patriotic emotions hit hard in between the fans.