smartphones have caused more damages than good in society, do you agree?

After 36 years of constant development, contemporary smartphones encounter striking innovation every quarter. However, along with such technological advancements, many people and media have started to mention their downsides. Regardless of the drawbacks, I believe that smartphones have done more good than harm to our society for two reasons. First, smartphones have a myriad of applications that provide convenience in everyday life. From calculators to food delivery apps, there is nothing that cannot be done through a smartphone nowadays. This comes as a surprise to those of the older generations. For instance, my mom always used to go to the bank when she had to send someone money. After banking applications have been developed, she does not have to go to the bank every single time she has to make a transfer. People like my mom have greatly benefited from the development of smartphones. Moreover in the past, it was not even thinkable that one’s location could be tracked in real-life. Today, it becomes possible due to smartphones. Tracking applications are useful, especially to parents to know where their children are, making it easier to find them when they are lost. Second, smartphones are significantly helpful in case of emergency and prevention of it. As an example, the recent smartphones have automatic messaging services provided by telecommunication companies that notify people of any natural disaster. This technology comes in great aid to fast evacuation processes and routines, which can save millions of lives. Also, internet-of-things or IoT technology informs apartment occupants about sudden dangers at home when away. For instance, when the house catches fire due to an explosion of gas, the smartphone can automatically contact 119 to the residential building and simultaneously send alarms to the smartphone user about it. Because of the various features that support everyday life and act as lifesaver, smartphones do more good than harm. They get smarter every day with increasing capabilities. Although some drawbacks may exist, society has to know the advantages of smartphones outweigh the disadvantages.