Farming is the backbone of every country, but nowadays, many youngsters hesitate to enter in this profession. Why is this the case, and what can be done to avoid it?

In this day and age, farming yet plays an integral role in providing food and countries’ revenue. Despite the significant role of agriculture in societies, juveniles, more than past, are reluctant to choose this job. The origins of this change seem to stem from several factors, while a number of remedies are also available, which will be discussed in this essay. There exist some reasons linked to why the youth generation avoid selecting farming as their career. In the first place, farming can be considered a low-level social status and unprofitable job compared to modern-day positions, such as lawyers, doctors, or engineers. Moreover, if youngsters decided to choose this position, they would be settled in rural areas, which have fewer facilities and services than cities. It goes without saying that their income would be limited to the specific time of the year, and also, in some situations, it would be insecure on the grounds of natural disasters, for instance, flood or storm. Hence, young people are less inclined to indulge themselves in farming. Regarding the solution in addressing the given problem, first and foremost, governments should invest more money in improving rural areas’ amenities, which would encourage people to live in these regions, and thus doing agriculture for their livelihood. Furthermore, governments can motivate adolescents to enter in this profession by some financial incentives like tax discounts. In doing so, campaigns or informative films could pay off. Another remedy would be to establish farming subjects in universities, which would inspire youngsters to choose this job in the future. This, in turn, can increase international students to enter this sector, resulting in mitigating the severity of the issue. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that agriculture is of paramount importance industry in many countries, and adopting the above-mentioned remedies can increase the tendency among young people to enter this profession.