Farmers within a country are often protected by tariffs - that is, special taxes on imported food. Such policies are necessary, and should be implemented wherever possible.

This essay will highlight that this certainly is a rational approach that needs to implement wherever possible, but it should be ensured that tariffs should be reduced sometimes for small scale traders. Imposing tariffs on imported food will ultimately boost the people to go for local food providers which will ultimately boost the local economy. However, tariffs should be waived off in case of national emergency. Since conditions such as natural calamities like drought or floods which destroys the crops occurs in an unpredictable manner, government should waive the tariffs in order to meet the need. It is said - "Scarcity is the mother of invention". One country facing scarcity of some food material will automatically increase import of such food from other country. Here, special tariffs will benefit the country providing food as the import trades will subsequently increase due to scarcity. On the other hand, I would argue that increased tax on imported food will not benefit the importing country sometimes. Government impose high tariffs which ultimately leads to inflation. In one country rice may sold at 40 rupees per kilogram, but if the same country imports it to another country, the price of rice may get increased due to tariffs on imported food product. Ultimately, the retail individual has to buy it at higher price. It is clearly understandable that importing tariffs will not only protect the farmers within the country but also tax collected as special tariffs will benefit the country. On the contrary, it will affect the retail individual as they might have to buy imported food at higher price.