Famous and unique natural landmarks

Blood Falls, Antarctica, is one of the natural landmarks. It’s found at the end of Taylor Glacier, near Antarctica’s ice-free Dry Valleys. The Blood Falls gets its name from the blood-red water that trickles from the glacier. The water is red not from real blood, but because of the presence of iron metal. The iron in Blood Falls water turns red as it oxidizes, or rusts, when it comes in contact with oxygen in the air. This is the general property of iron, if the iron comes in contact with oxygen in the air it will form a rust, if the intensity of oxygen exposure is higher, it leads to the higher rusting process that occurs, allowing the color to be very red. The iron-rich water of Blood Falls doesn’t actually come from Taylor Glacier. It comes from a salty lake under the glacier. A crack, or fissure, in Taylor Glacier allows the water from this lake to rise up. The lake under the glacier has an unusually salty consistency, because saltwater has a lower freezing point than pure water and releases heat as it freezes, it melts the ice, thus allowing rivers water to flow.