Families are getting smaller. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is observed that families are getting smaller and smaller as they progress from one generation to the other. This essay agrees with the notion that this has a negative impact on a particular individual and along with it, the society as a whole because of diminished emotional support and financial support in times of distress. Having a large family implies strong emotional and mental support. Individuals who belong to large families have loving and caring people around them, whom they can confide in. However tough life may get, they know that the members of their family have got their backs. Contrastingly, members who belong to small or nuclear families or even orphans feel isolated and left out whenever faced with a difficulty in life, which may force them to take drastic measures. For instance, a survey by Johns Hopkins university showed that 77 percent of people who resorted to suicide, either belonged to nuclear families or were orphans. Belonging to a large family also has its financial and economic benefits. Whenever the financial situation of one person of the family worsens, the other members provide for them and help them become economically stable and self-sustainable. Moreover, the presence of the elderly and experienced in a family means better decision making and hence better chances to avoid rash and unreasonable choices. On the other hand, people belonging to smaller families may not have someone looking out for them in times of financial distress. Consequently, they resort to taking debts thus, falling into the perpetual cycle of loans and interests. In conclusion, diminishing family sizes lead to mental and economic depression as the members of these families have no one to rely on during difficult times.