Facts about heavy traffic jams in urban areas.

One of the most serious problems in urban areas is the heavy traffic jams. To solve this problem, we must understand what its causes are, first. The main cause is that there are numerous vehicles on the road. In fact, the street is too narrow so snarl – ups are of daily occurrence in the street. Take the case of Hanoi, there is no fixed rule for the time the traffic jams to happen but it is worst during the rush hour when everyone is in a hurry to get to work or come back home. However, it only takes about 30 minutes on average for a standstill and 2 hours to get through the worst. Moreover, transport levies are not really high so people buy a plethora of cars and motorbikes to gift to their family and friends. To address this issue, the government should increase vehicle acquisition taxes. Besides, the overwhelming budget must be spent for road expansions. Streets ought to be considerably enlarged than before. Another cause is the motorists’ unconsciousness on traffic rules. Nowadays, people tend to use personal vehicles because they think it is convenient and comfortable. Further, inhabitants are lack of traffic laws. For this reason, they often encroach upon the other side of the ways. This brings them a number of troubles. To deal with this circumstance, the administrations should encourage the use of public transport. Furthermore, they must put a separate lane for the motorcycles to avoid accidents.