Factors contributing to the increase in international travel

For a long time, travelling and embracing new cultures was something only well-off or influential people could experience. However, now that there are faster and cheaper ways to travel, it is becoming widely available. I got very interested after witnessing a discussion about this topic, and I would like to give my opinion on what exactly is increasing international travelling. First, it is important to mention that methods of travel have evolved and changed over the past few centuries. Whereas a horse and carriage posed as one of the only methods of transport, the 19th and 20th century brought in advances in engineering, leading to inventions like cars, planes and the like. Nowadays everybody obviously gravitates towards these fast and efficient options. In comparison to the past, prices of travel have also lowered, making it more accessible to the public. In addition, I believe media and the broadcasting of different cultures and parts of the world aided in the rise of travelling. Enabling a wider audience to experience novelties could have led to them discovering a passion for travelling or a wish to broaden their horizons. In my opinion, media has been very helpful in bringing different cultures and groups of people together. In conclusion, personally, means of transport have contributed more to the increase of international travel. Even though media has had an impact, different transport methods are important in other areas, like commerce or trade; it is something we as people are very dependent on.