Faced with the potential consequences from the heavy school workload, some parents su

Faced with the potential consequences from the heavy school workload, some parents suggest reducing their children’s pressure by getting their children to participate in more physical activities. From my perspective, however, I partially agree with this view. On the one hand, it is noteworthy that encouraging children to exercise leads to many physical benefits. Scientific studies have shown that although it is invisible, devoting to education for academic achievements during juvenile stage is at the expense of normal physical growth due to the lack of time for outdoor activities. Therefore, it will be a mistake to overlook the fact that children who give high commitment of time to education are inclined to adopt sedentary lifestyle, which in turn may cause health problems, typically obesity and nearsightedness. This example is the illustration of the fact that if children spend more time exercising and participating in physical activities moderately, they can protect themselves from common health problems resulted from inactivity. On the other hand, students need to spend time on study for the highly competitive pressure of education. According to sociological researches, the laborintensive economy has gradually developed to knowledge-based economy, graduates from prestigious schools with outstanding academic qualifications are sought-after by employers and head-hunters, especially in fields with high level of specialization. In fact, the evaluation for university admission is largely based on academic performance as the prerequisite, and in most cases admission committees give little weight to student’s performances in sports. Therefore, spending more time on studies rather than sports is more recommended for most children. In conclusion, there are many merits of doing physical activities, but for children, these benefits should not impact on their regular academic schooling.