Facebook is becoming more and more central to our life as it has obvious benefits, but there are dangers it may exert over our lives.

Following in the footsteps of printing technology, the advent of the internet into millions of lives was an epoch-making event, which once again breathed new life to the world of communication. Supposedly, the term social media is no strange thing to anybody, particularly Facebook being used internationally. Nevertheless, I believe that there is no rose without a thorn, Facebook may be beneficial, but seemingly filled with unforeseeable dangers. On the one hand, Facebook has been ranked one of the most-used apps globally for ample reasons. The first and foremost merit of Facebook is the instantly-formed connection among internet users. With many kinds of messenger services on offer 24/7, it offers a place where people can freely update their status day in and day out. For those who are dealing with difficulty but can share their feelings with real-life beings, they can obtain numerous constructive advice using Facebook while their anonymity is securely concealed. In addition to that, this immediate contact has also paved the way for many other areas such as e-commerce, information, entertainment, fundraising activities, etc. Notwithstanding these aforementioned great sides of Facebook, it may also exert negative impacts on its users, especially the juvenile. In this day and age, parents usually bury themselves in work, and leave their children, who are mentally immature and fairly impressionable at their tender age, roaming free on Facebook by themselves. This act, I believe, is highly detrimental as it can lead to several undesirable behaviors to develop which possibly last into adolescence, such as being continuously disobedient and keeping their eyes glued for hours. Also, the cyber world can be a paradise for internet criminals to enact their crime on innocent victims. The number of illegal cases reportedly involving internet usage is on the rise, making it unsafe for young kids to use Facebook without parental surveillance. Long story short, an ideal world indeed cannot come to life without social media like Facebook, but it does not excuse its serious underlying dangers. I suppose should internet users be fully equipped with adequate knowledge and skills, those downsides will be outweighed undeniably.