Facebook and Twitter should be banned.

Social networking websites such as Facebook and Twitter are thought to have a detrimental influence on individuals as well as society. Some people believe that they should be prohibited. While I think that such sites are essential to individuals, I agree that they have negative consequences on the whole community. On one hand, online social medial has many benefits. Firstly, it become easier for people from different countries to communicate with each other whereas, before the advancement of technology and the spread of social media, people from different countries have rare chances to meet each other and communicate. Secondly, Facebook and Twitter gave individuals the chance to participate in discussions with people who have the same interests. On the other hand, Facebook and Twitter have a destructive effect on societies and local communities. Firstly, individuals become so attached to their computers or mobile phones. Consequently, individuals within society are no longer communicating or participating in any social activities. Furthermore, the community is becoming fragmented and isolated as people spend most of their time in front of their devices. They never meet face to face. In addition, many studies have found a strong relationship between social networking websites and increased risk of illness such as depression, anxiety, and loneliness. The more you sit online, the more you get mood disorders. Social networking such as Twitter and Facebook might be hotspots for spreading hurtful rumors, lies, and abuse that might leave lasting emotional scars. To conclude, although social sites have brought people closer to each other, They have a negative consequence on both community and people’s health. I think local communities should exert efforts to indulge people in local activities to stay away from these websites.