Extra classes for children after school

Nowadays, not only adults are getting busy with hours and hours working but also do the school-age children, who have to spend lots more hours on studying than their parents did before. As the fact that extra classes now become an acceptable education norm for many countries around the world, especially Asian schools, children now have to struggle much more nerve-racking problems with them than society can ever imagine. Firstly, attending too many extra classes on weekdays and even the weekends leads to the lack of time for kids. As a result, they don’t have enough time to relax by taking up an interesting hobby such as learn how to play an instrument or playing popular sports which can improve their physical health as well as their mental health. In addition, due to the lack of time, kids are no longer hanging out with their friends or taking part in any outside activity. Hence, their ability to communicate with others and the lack of social skill now become serious issues for parents when raising their kids. Secondly, the expectations of parents on their children put the kids under a lot of pressure as the parents want their kids to be always at top of classes and get insanely high scores for every test. According to some researchers, over-studying doesn’t make the kids become more intelligent or smarter, however, attending too many extra classes such as maths or science subjects can cause children’s cognitive impairment especially for young kids for example, kindergarten and primary school students due to a large amount of time focusing, lacking sleep and being stress. Furthermore, extra classes normally provide theoretical lessons which are mostly the same with compulsory classes while teenagers need more particular skills, for instance, critical thinking, time management, etc. In conclusion, governments and parents should join hand to create educational systems which are more practical, creative and stress-free environment for their children and extra classes should be banned and substituted by soft skills classes instead.