Explain what ethnocentrism is and give an example from what you read, watched or experienced. Talk about why it is important to analyze and interact with a culture other than our own using the cultural elements (e. g. norms, standards) of that particular culture

Ethnocentrism is judging another culture based on the values and standards set in one's own culture, therefore believing that your own culture is superior to that of other people. This something i have been guilty of in the past it's also something I have experienced in my own personal life. I was born and raised in Nigeria, in my culture respect for the elderly Is a pretty big deal, and it's typically shown by females kneeling and men take a bow, It's also shown when we call older people aunty and uncle even when we are not related. upon getting to United States Of America, I got to learn rather quickly that all of that is only unique to my culture, I found that my friends found it weird when i would kneel even if i happen to meet an elderly person at the store for example and they just didn't understand why i called everyone aunty or uncle. I on the other hand remember watching a show about a certain African culture that requires that the groom endures a number of beatings for the girls family and member of the society before he is able to marry the girl, if he can’t take the beatings he is considered that man enough to be a married man, I couldn’t at that time think of anything more barbaric than that, I just couldn’t fathom why that would be a yardstick when I comes to being a man. Although now looking back at that I can certainly see where ethnocentrism came into play, I can see how close minded we can be when it comes to other peoples cultures, in reality the difference in our cultures is what makes us all so unique and the reason life is so interesting. Learning about different cultures is something we should all make an habit.