Cancer treatment. Discuss it.

Cancer is one of the most common diseases of today, and numerous drug groups are used in its treatment. One of the drug groups used in cancer treatment is cisplatin, which is a platinum complex. Cisplatin is an antineoplastic agent used in the treatment of testicular, ovary, oral cavity, and pharynx, lung, cervical, lymph node, bone, skin, bladder, brain, and kidney cancers. The main mechanism of action of cisplatin is inhibition of DNA replication and killing of rapidly proliferating carcinogenic cells. It does this by binding to the N-7 reagent center on purine residues, interfering with normal transcription and replication mechanisms, causing DNA damage and preventing cell division. In addition to providing successful treatments, cisplatin is also a very toxic drug. Carboplatin and oxaliplatin, the second and third generations with lower toxicity, are used in cases where this drug, which has a potentially damaging potential to cause hearing loss in children, is considered to be too toxic in the patient to be used. Cisplatin is administered intravenously to the body due to its poor absorption from the gastrointestinal tract, thus increasing the utilization of the drug. Cisplatin can be used in combination with etoposide and bleomycin, and up to 99% improvement can be achieved with this combined treatment. Generally, 4 different vial forms of cisplatin, which are 10 mg, 25 mg, 50 mg, and 100 mg are used in the clinic. Two mechanisms of resistance of cisplatin, namely natural resistance and acquired resistance, have been found in the clinic. While natural resistance can develop without the drug being given to the body - that is, without exposure to the drug - acquired resistance occurs when exposed to the drug.