Explain the correlation between greenhouse effect and climate change and how it will affect us

We are at a time when many of us are blindly turning away from the fact that climate change is real and it will have a devastating effect on our lives and the environment if not addressed on the right time. Before we take a look at climate change, we must understand what the greenhouse effect is and how humans are accelerating the natural process of the greenhouse effect and contributing to climate change. Let’s take a look at each of these concepts broken down in this article to understand the link between the greenhouse effect and climate change. What is “Greenhouse Effect”? To explain briefly, the Greenhouse effect is a natural process where the atmosphere of the planet emits radiation that helps to warm up the surface of the planet. There are specific “Greenhouse gases” that are present in the atmosphere of the planet and they radiate energy and this energy is radiated in all direction. Now, a part of this radiated energy is directed to the surface and eventually warming it up. The effect of the greenhouse depends on the temperature of the atmosphere and the number of greenhouse gases present in the atmosphere. This natural process of the greenhouse effect is important to sustain life on Earth. The devastating climate change that we are worried about is brought up due to the humans burning an excessive amount of fossil fuels and carrying out de-forestation, which influences the temperature of the Earth and its climate. What are greenhouse gases? Greenhouse gas is a gas which traps the heat in the Earth’s atmosphere. They absorb and emit infrared radiation. These greenhouses gases cause the greenhouse effect. Although greenhouse gases occur naturally, various human activities are increasing the amount of these gases in the atmosphere. Some of the greenhouse gases are: Nitrous Oxide Methane (CH4) Carbon dioxide (CO2) Fluorinated gases such as Hydrofluorocarbons, nitrogen trifluoride, perfluorocarbon etc. Water Vapor (H2O) Ozone (O3) Water vapour has got only 9 days of residence time, i. e. they leave the atmosphere of the Earth much faster than the other greenhouse gases. Most of the other greenhouse gases are mixed well and they take much longer to get rid off from the atmosphere. In short, most of the greenhouse gases can remain in the atmosphere, ranging from a few counted years to hundreds and thousands of years. However, it should be noted that Carbon dioxide is the main culprit that contributes greatly to the greenhouse effect. What are some causes/human activities that increase the emission of greenhouse gases? As it has been mentioned before, various human activities have led to an increase in the emission of the greenhouse gases and some of these are: Excessive burning of fossil fuels such as oil, gas, and coal. These produce Nitrous oxide and Carbon dioxide, which are greenhouse gases. Increase in farming also contributes to greenhouse effects. A large amount of Methane gas is produced by livestock when they digest food. Unless there is a balance, this adds to the greenhouse effect. Using fertilizers that contain nitrogen. They produce the emission of Nitrous oxide. Cutting down forests for various purposes. This also contributes to the issue as tress help with the regulation of CO2, by absorbing the gas from the atmosphere and releasing O2. What are some impacts of the greenhouse effect on climate change? Earth does undergo natural climate but with varying timescale from millions of years to a few counted years. Various methods are used to determine the climate changes of the past, such as lie core, sediments from lakes, glaciers, speleothems etc. But, considering the greenhouse effect, it does affects the climate, due to its consequences. There are various consequences of the greenhouse effect and if not addressed right on time, they will surely have a devastating effect, alongside changing the climate of various regions throughout the globe. Some of the consequences are: Extreme changes in the weather More flooding incidences Occurrences of drought, with a shift in rainfall Increase in the sea level and melting of ice More incidences of extreme weather changes more occurrences of natural disasters However, it should be noted that, other than having a devastating effect on our environment, it will also have a negative effect on human health, society, and economy. Incidences of natural disasters can cause economic loss and loss of human lives as well. With changing climate due to the greenhouse effect, agricultural and forestry industries and many others will also come under the effect, adding to the problem. To conclude, the link between the greenhouse effect and climate is clear and evident. The greenhouse effect has got consequences that lead to a change in the climate. We need to create mass awareness to make sure that we understand the effects that greenhouse effect can have on climate change, on the Earth and our daily lives. We need to come up with a solution to prevent the acceleration of greenhouse effect and climate change, to avert the disastrous end that lies ahead of us.