Explain the agreements against the death penalty?

There is a belief in some societies that if the death penalty exists, there will be a corresponding reduction in the amount of crime rate in societies. Based on information from the Death Penalty Information Center (DPIC) in America, there is no solid evidence that proves capital punishment results in a lower murder rate than in the countries without capital punishment. Deterrence is associated with a rational thinking process, utilizing rational actions and decisions, but often criminals do not have rational thinking and actions. This means they do not believe in the severe consequences of committing crime such as being caught and executed. Once criminals do not believe in such consequences, the idea of having the death penalty in place would not always deter crime. Another consideration for eliminating the death penalty is that it is inhumane and cruel. There are five commonly used capital punishment methods namely hanging, shooting, lethal injection, beheading and electrocution. The idea of modern methods of execution is to provide a quick and painless death. However, the speed of death is sometimes affected by a number of different factors. In addition, an execution may take longer, or there has been problem that have led to extreme pain and cruelties before the death actually has been achieved. This delay can cause physical suffering for prisoners. A further aspect of inhumanity related to the death penalty is the mental suffering that takes place while prisoners are waiting for their executions at death row as they have to endure the thoughts about what is coming to them and how painful it could be. For instance, most of the people think that lethal injection and electrocution are less painful but in reality, they are not painless. It takes 26 minutes for lethal injection and approximately 10 minutes for electrocution to be effective. Apart from the fact that capital punishment can be considered inhumane, it also does not allow mistakes to be corrected. There are many factors that lead innocent people to be sentenced to death such as detectives failing to properly investigate the case which leads to charging wrong people, being framed, false testimony or convictions being made on weak evidence as a court fails to carefully review a case. A statistic from DIPC in USA has shown that from 1990 to present 23 people had been sentenced to death, and after their deaths there was evidence proving that they were innocent but it was too late as they were gone. An implication of this is that if the courts are actually murdering innocent people they are as guilty as the murders who were sentenced to death.