Expanding the non-smoking areas is more beneficial to Hong Kong citizens than increasing the tobacco tax. Do you agree? Explain your answer with reference to the sources and your own knowledge.

I agree that expanding the non-smoking areas is more beneficial to Hong Kong citizens than increasing the tobacco tax. Firstly, increasing the tobacco tax may not benefit to Hong Kong citizen, as stated in Source B, smokers believed that the increase in tobacco tax would encourage tobacco smuggling. People should switch to buy cheaper but illegal cigarettes rather than stop smoking and may increase Hong Kong’s crime rate. Thus, this would not benefit or even harm Hong Kong citizens. Besides, tax increase is ineffective because the imposed amount doesn’t have much influence made on the rich and affordable people. There is a total of 3, 800 of daily cigarette male and female smokers in the age group of 15-19 years old. If the price of cigarettes increases, this can probably reduce the number of teenagers smoking as they don’t have much money to support smoking. However, in Hong Kong, with 1 in 5 people considered poor which only contributes 20%. This shows that majority of Hong Kong people are not very poor. Therefore, increasing the cigarette tax may not benefit Hong Kong citizens as much as expanding the non-smoking areas. Secondly, I think expanding the non-smoking areas like Macau as showed in source C, all indoor public areas expect the airport and entertainment venues where smoking rooms are provided, as well as within 10 meters from bus stops, is more beneficial to Hong Kong citizens. If this control is held in Hong Kong, this can ensure smokers staying in a specific area to smoke and protect non-smokers from breathing in second-hand smoke which contains even more harmful substances than the first-hand smokers. As a result, it is beneficial to Hong Kong people who are mostly non-smokers. Thirdly, with an increasing number of the non-smoking areas, smokers find more difficult to find a place to smoke. Their desire to smoke when hanging out would be reduced because it is not that convenient to smoke since they would have to find a specific place to smoke, which may separate themselves from family or friends or reduce the gathering time with family and friends. If this control has legal binding effect and any unlawful smoking in non-smoking areas may be penalized, it may reduce the number of smokers. Therefore, expanding the non-smoking areas is beneficial to Hong Kong citizens. In conclusion, I agree that expanding the non-smoking areas is more beneficial to Hong Kong citizens than increasing the tobacco tax.