Example 4. According to many people, Social Networking sites have had a great negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Social media and networking sites have become an inseparable part of the lives of the present generation. However, many people strongly believe that such networking has a detrimental effect on the people’s lives. This essay will discuss that media and technology are mainly advantageous to the people but their damaging repercussions on the society can also not be overlooked, thus partially agreeing with the statement. To commence with the discussion, the impact of social media has some outstanding benefits. Firstly, the world has become a global village because of these sites. People from different corners have come closer through websites like Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Instagram. Secondly, these sites offer individuals a chance to interact with people who share common interests. In this regard, social networking has indeed proved to be a boon. Thirdly, social net working has not only broadened the mental horizon of the users in terms of knowledge, but has also enhanced the scope of business opportunities. On the flip side, the social networking also has some adverse effects. Instead of taking interest in the community activities, people today prefer to create online contacts. Consequently, they fail to form close personal relationships. Face book marriages are also being fixed though they are not proving to be very successful. Apart from this, the society is becoming increasingly broken, fragmented and isolated. People tend to spend more time in fiddling with their gadgets rather than passing time with their families. To conclude, while individuals have greater opportunities of developing online friendships through social media, these relations lack the real bonding and encourage seclusion. The community life is being unfavorably impacted. People must participate in community activities to promote harmony among the individuals for a healthy society.