Examinations are among the most common methods of assessing learners. What are the advantages and disadvantages of written exams?

It is obvious that many schools and colleges consider different tests and exams as an effective way to assess their student's knowledge. However, we can not negate that this kind of method brings a number of demerits. On the one hand, through various exams at school, we can understand what are our strengths and weaknesses to improve our learning. In terms of strong points, we find how to maintain and develop them successfully in the future. Besides that, through weaknesses, tests are a wonderful opportunity for us to evaluate ourselves. They provide learners with the chance to remain focussed, motivated, and determined to succeed in their highest potentials. Moreover, traditional tests at school are strictly organized under the supervision of invigilators or prestigious tests. Hence, it will be an equal place for us to have fair competitions with each other and perform our potential best. On the other hand, it is no doubt that written exams are invisibly putting pressure on both teachers and students. Noticeably, tests require so many efforts and procedures to organize. For example, teachers have to spend much more time preparing papers, serving exams as well as exertions to mark the frequency of assessments at school. Learners can be stressed and overwhelmed since they have to revise a lot of work and subjects leading them to become exhausted and satiated with studying. In addition, exams cannot reflect accurately what students acquired throughout their learning process. In conclusion, although there are several drawbacks of written exams, we cannot negate the magnificent efficiency of the upside outweighs its disadvantages. Therefore, I believe that the results of exams cannot precisely reflect our capacities. The essential thing is that we learn rewarding lessons and experiences from our universities.