Evolution of Energy Efficiency Measures in the Indian Built Environment sector

The above literature tracks the history, proliferation and future direction of Building’s energy-efficiency measures taken at the policy level in India. We can see that the significant policy shift happened with the start of Energy conservation Act of 2001 under which future policies were launched. The energy-efficiency activities in India were initially slow from 2000 to 2015 and lacked clear direction for implementation during this time. Since 2015, the is a clear policy push from the central government, and there is a need for efficient implementation at the state and local body level. Earlier the central government use to launch the various programs related to energy efficiency, but it was not implemented and notified by the state. NBC, which was launched in 1970 made the three amendments till 2000. In 2005 the NBC code was again revised, but it could not make much impact on the building sector because of which there were two amendments done in 2015. NBC help the building to provide standards, certification, and safety. ECBC and the GRIHA were both launched in the year 2007, but couldn't make an impact on the built environment sector. Both ECBC and GRIHA were revised with significant upgrades and improvements, making them both more measurable and effective. India also signed the Paris Agreement in 2016, which highlights the government’s apparent policy and direction forward. There is an immediate need for efficient implementation of recent policy changes at the state and local body level. Efficient implementation, including better incentives, will make the policies successful in future times to come.