Evidence of Climate Change

Recently scientists have asked governments to take action to address climate change, while people who care about the environment have asked individuals to make changes to their daily lives. In my view, governments and individuals should both take responsibility for this problem. The combination of individual actions to reduce environmental impact and government control on the amount of pollution companies can create will prevent this situation from becoming worse. Individuals have a responsibility to reduce their effect on climate change. This means that each person can make choices every day to limit this effect. For example, every day people drive to work, even though there are other ways of getting there. They could take the bus or ride a bicycle to work instead, both of which can limit the effects of climate change. As you can see, every day offers choices for people to limit the effects of climate change. In addition to individuals, governments also have a responsibility to reduce the production of gases that cause climate change. Governments play a key role in the amount of gases that companies can produce. For example, in my home country, Canada, companies that produce too much harmful pollution are subject to fines. This means that they are forced to find ways to create less pollution, or their profits will fall. This means that governments have the power to limit the effects of climate change. In conclusion, both daily choices by individuals to reduce harmful gases and limits on the amount of pollution that companies can produce can help climate change. This clearly shows that both individuals and governments have a responsibility with regards to this issue.