everyone has struggles in life. so don't think others struggle is not struggle

There is a statement that people like to use “thank God because it could have been worse” but people tend to forget that it could have been better too. I always disliked the statement because it teaches one to suppress our hurt and struggles because according to someone else it could have been worse. I remember there was a time, my boyfriend complained about something work related, without realizing it, I used the statement on him. Later on, when I realized what I had done, I asked for forgiveness and we came to understand that whenever one of us says or does something that hurts the feelings of the other person, we say before it escalates. In my current relationship, I am learning and unlearning a lot of things that I had internalized for a very long time. Without realizing it, I was telling him that his struggles are nothing compared to other people’s struggles. I was supposed to be his confidante, his listener but what did I do on that occasion, I let him down. Every struggle, every hurt is worth the mention. I remember there was a time, I was talking with a family friend about what happened that defined my future. From form1 to form 3, I had never missed a trip. While I was in form 4, my dad lost his job. I was devastated, but I always thought that my uncle would pay for me because he always paid for me when dad was not able to. On this occasion, he did not. Everyone at school was asking what happened and I was always among the first people to pay and this time I was the last. That was my wakeup call that I could only depend on God, parents and myself. To them, this seemed like a petty issue because it was just a trip, no biggie, there are always other trips. When I narrated the ordeal to the family friend, she said my struggles were nothing compared to other people’s traumatic experiences. At times, there are things that we go through, that, to us, may be a big issue but to someone else, it may be a petty thing.