Everyday millions of tons of food is wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? How can this be solved?

Despite the fact that there are still some nations around the world that cannot afford to feed their citizens, there is a massive amount of food being wasted. In this essay, I will discuss some key reasons that are attributed to this problem and also suggest ways to address it. There are two primary culprits why food waste is pervasive on a global scale. Firstly, the lower price of food relative to income has been a significant driver of this problem. As a result of technological advances, namely the more efficient equipment, the cost of growing and manufacturing food products has become much cheaper in recent years and this has been passed on to the consumer. Secondly, it is common that many people often have a poor plan or even do not have one when buying and preserving food. It means supplies of food are acutely abundant, which does not motivate people to give careful consideration to how they buy and store their daily food requirements, especially in the case of fresh food. As a result, food is left idle, and eventually it rots and gets thrown away. Some measures can be taken to mitigate the problem. From the authorities’ perspective, they should raise awareness about wasting food. In other words, they need to promote public campaigns about the repercussions of food waste via a variety of channels, such as social media, newspapers, magazines and leaflets so that the community will feel more inclined to become food-conscious and avoid exacerbating the bad use of food. From a personal perspective, individuals and families should become more responsible for what they buy or eat on a daily basis. One way to do this is by making a list of materials and ingredients and checking it thoroughly before going to the market, and this will render the purchase of unnecessary food much less likely. In conclusion, food waste is generally caused by the low cost of food and the greater abundance of food compared to previous periods. However, governments and people can still do a lot in order to solve this problem, for example, individuals can prepare their lists of ingredients more carefully before going to the supermarket.