Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. with this opinion?

No one can deny that globalization has a major effect on the extinction of some languages. Meanwhile, some people consider that it is not important to protect them as life will be easier with fewer languages, however I disagree with this statement. I will elaborate on my opinion in the following paragraphs. First of all, when local languages die out, the possibility of effective communication will dramatically drop. Therefore, the extinction of languages not only doesn't cause easy life, but also makes it harder for some, especially the elderly. As a matter of fact, old people cannot convey important messages or even handle the daily conversation, because they lose the vital tool to communicate. Over time, a great number of the local languages in Iran are dying out, especially Laki. Most of the children and teenagers do not speak in their mother tongue anymore. Based on my personal experience, everyday I am witnessing that my father and my nieces cannot speak and communicate together in a proper way because of languages. Secondly, languages are not just sets of words and grammar rules, they are fundamental tools for surviving in specific businesses, especially local ones. In fact, some local businesses sell products existing in their environment like herbs, organic mountain honey, etc. most of the mentioned products have local names which explaining about their properties is only understandable for natives. For example, there are a great number of herbs in the Zagros Mountains whose names do not have equivalent in the Persian language like “Sorpa”. Thus, the extinction of local languages will cause irreparable damages to the economy of certain regions, because the possibility of advertising and explanation will be impossible or reduced. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the idea of having fewer languages to have an easier life. Languages are so vital for local inhabitants, because they are a great way to communicate, especially the young generation, and are significant tools to maintain their occupations. I believe that the vanishing of languages may actually make some lives more difficult.