Evaluation of admission blood glucose on in-hospital mortality in patients with acute coronary syndromes admitted in Cardiac Care Unit

Coronary Artery Disease (CAD) is one of the crucial causes of death in the world. Various factors are involved in the incidence of CAD and its mortality. Diabetes is one of the risk factors of Acute Coronary Syndromes (ACS). The aim of this study was to evaluate the impact of Blood Glucose on admission on mortality rate of the patients with ACS. Methods: This cross-sectional descriptive study was performed on 246 consecutive patients admitted to the cardiac intensive care unit of Amir Al-Momenin Hospital in Zabol. Patients were divided into two groups based on their admission time blood glucose: First group with blood sugar ≥ 200 mg/dl and second group with blood glucose Less than 200 mg /dl. The rate of cardiovascular morbidity and mortality during hospitalization were compared in the two groups. Data were collected and analyzed using questionnaires and finally analyzed by version 22 of SPSS software. Results: Out of 246 consecutive patients with a mean age of 62. 8 ± 6. 5, 166 (67. 5%) were male, 106 (43%) patients were in the first group with blood glucose ≥ 200 mg /dl. The frequency of Male gender, History of hypertension and ischemic heart disease, high blood pressure on admission, Body Mass Index, total Cholesterol, LDL and serum Troponin level, ischemic changes on Electrocardiogram in the first group was higher than the second group. Furthermore, Ejection Fraction in the first group was lower. Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events like Acute Heart Failure, Cardiogenic shock, Stroke, and in-hospital mortalities were significantly higher in the high-glucose group. In the first group, previous history of Diabetes had no meaningful impact on the mortality rate. Conclusions: The presence of high blood glucose on admission are associated with elevated Cardiac Troponin I, ischemic changes on ECG, lower LVEF, and also increased major cardiovascular adverse events such as cardiogenic shock, stroke and death. Besides, high blood pressure and hyperlipidemia were more common in this group. Therefore, preventive measures such as regular screening of at-risk population and early diagnosis and treatment of diabetes can prevent cardiovascular complications such as acute coronary syndromes and their mortalities and avoid imposing more economic, social and medical burden on societies.