Working at home and working in the office

Nowadays, with the advanced technology that makes remote working possible, many people can perform tasks at home, commuting with others simply via email, online networks and video conferencing. While some people get productive when they are at home, others prefer to work in an office. Working at home and working in the office have both similarities and differences. To begin with, there are so many similarities between working at home and in the office. Regardless of the place where people work, they have to finish tasks and deadlines that they are in charge of. Therefore, workers will be paid the same salary for what they have done. Furthermore, working at home or working in the office does not influence the benefits which employees receive from companies such as health insurance, sick leave and vacation. Besides these similarities, working at home and working in the office are different in many ways. The first difference is working environment. When working in the office, people work in a competitive environment with full of office equipments, all workers there work, that bring them promotion to finish their task and deadlines, people will work more effectively. In contrast, working from home might cause many distractions. For instance, when people are working, their parents ask them to help with something, so they have to pause their work. Even when it is quiet, they always want to stand up, talk to parents, take a rest on the sofa. This in turn makes their work low efficient. Another difference we have to concern is finance cost. When working in the office, people pay for the cost of commuting, such as public transit, gas, or maintenance expenses. If they drive, they might also have to pay for parking. Workers likely pick up a coffee or buy lunch during the day. All of these expenses add up. On the other hand, people do not have to worry about all above expenses when they work at home, that will save a lot of money. Last but not least, flexibility is also a clear difference between working at home and in the office. Working from home provides employees with the absolute flexibility to organize the day. They can work whenever they want, there is also much more freedom when compared to a typical office day. On the contrary, office work demands alignment. Workers need to fit into those 8 working hours from 8 a. m to 5 p. m despite the fact that they might not be effective at all time. This means they have no choice or freedom to set their working schedule. In conclusion, both 2 types of work have the same things like tasks, salary, benefits and differences about working environment, cost and flexibility. Depending on each individual’s demands, they might prefer one style to another so that they can work most efficiently.