Establishing good relationships in the workplace is not important, as the primary goal of every person is to focus on work.

It is considered that making friends at workplace don't allow you to be productive. It wastes your abilities to focus on your duties. According to my opinion, It is correct to some extent but not in all cases. For instance, If you are at working place you should give importance to your work. Your work should not be compromised due to forging friendship there. You can not make your colleagues happy all the time. Sometimes, you should eschew the niceties of interaction in favour of professionalism. It is crucial decision sometimes. Because if you consume your lot of time in making irrelevant friendship then you can't pay heed to your performance. You will suffer a lot in that case will be non productive at all. Conversely, it is not absolute that making colleagues your friends will disturb your performance and make you non productive. Rather it is necessary to do because colleagues are those persons which can be very sincere to you. In some cases, they spend their most waking hours with you as compared to time spent with family. The feeling of harmony and friendship between colleagues will enhance their potential which will be building block for team work. Ultimately, it is concluded that making friends at workplace can be beneficial to some extent but wasting your crucial working time on this task can have damaging role on your career.