Education, from preschool through university, should be paid for by the government and therefore free to students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education has become the most powerful tool in today's society. However, it is not always easy to seek an education because education is costly nowadays. Hence, it is asserted that the Government should pay for every level of education while providing it for free. I strongly agree with this viewpoint because free education would make it accessible to everyone, especially to the weaker sector of society and eliminate child labour. Although many would argue that free things are taken granted, it is certainly not applicable for education. In today's money-driven world, people want to achieve as many degrees as possible for better career prospects, leading to better employment. This, however, is only pursued by the upper economic sectors which can afford education while the those belonging to lower socioeconomic statuses are marginalised to illiteracy and ultimately, poverty. By removing the educational monetary barrier, officials can ensure that every citizen has an equal opportunity to receive an education. This can tremendously benefit the more indigent population as they now can send their children to seek education. The free education concept was mentioned in the book 'A Greater Life' written by the world-renowned entrepreneur Bill Gates. He stated that free, universal access to education has a tremendous promising future for humanity. Nevertheless, another reason why education should be made free is to eliminate child labour. It is a significant component of poverty in the least economic countries. Providing free education for every child in the nation would encourage parents to send them to school. Hence, they will not force their offsprings for labour at a young age, thus eliminating child labour. Consequently, it would produce a population of highly skilled professionals which adds to its economic advancement. To sum up, I agree that the Government should make every level of education accessible for free of charge so that every student has an equal opportunity to receive an education. Importantly, it can minimise child labour in society.