Feedback and evaluation are necessary aspects of school and work, but many people dislike being evaluated. What are the causes of this problem? How could it be solved?

Every organisation regularly assess its workers to know the skill set of an individual. While it is quite common to undergo examinations at schools and workplaces, some individuals are not happy with receiving feedback on their work due to apprehension of obtaining negative results which can have detrimental mental effects. This issue can be resolved by modifying feedback forms to motivate students and workers to improve their work. One of the biggest problems of receiving feedback on their performance is the fear of obtaining negative criticism. Although it may not seem as serious as it sounds, many people feel discouraged when they get low grades at school or bad comments on work projects. Consequently, it leads to a feeling of social rejection. As a result, instead of optimistically taking the criticisms, he/she develops a pessimistic life perspective. A study conducted by the University of Cambridge revealed that 60% of Englanders voted against the need for examination systems at school and workplace. When asked to justify their point, 85% of them mentioned that they fear receiving unfavourable results. This problem can be resolved by formatting the way feedback forms are structured to boost confidence rather than hinder it. Evaluation reports should emphasise more on the strengths of a person's work rather than the mistakes. Doing this will provide greater encouragement as one will feel appreciated for the hard work and efforts. Feeling motivated by their effort levels, one is more likely to take criticisms positively and thrive harder for self-improvement. This idea was mentioned in the book 'A Great Time For Business' written by Bill Gates, a prominent entrepreneur. He elaborated that the concept of a 'happy work ethic' is deeply rooted in the way students and workers were appreciated for their endeavours. To summarise, some feel discouraged when acquiring lousy feedback on their works; however, if the results focus more on appreciating their efforts, people are likely to accept criticism rather than repel from it.