Essential food science and preparation skills for students

While some people believe that food science and preparation is essential for students and that it should be a part of their education, others don’t agree with that. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I belive teaching students basics of food science and prepartion carries great benefits. A number of people believe that teaching students about food and how to prepare it is essential for a variety of reasons, one of which being that food preparation is a crucial skill in many situations, even though students get their meals served by their parents or at school, they will eventually grow independent, and having this skill can be fairly helpful to avoid unhealthy fast food. Another benefit is that having such a skill can help them get involved in the workforce, in the food industry in particular. Other people don’t stand this idea, their justification for this relies in their belief that schools should be focused on the important subjects, as they are of the opinion that such activities can distract students from their focus on academic subjects which affects their overall academic achievement. Another reason being that such knowledge can be obtained in a medium other than school. In my point of view, I believe that teaching students these skills can lead to a variety of benefits, my reason for believing so is that students shouldn’t be completely inclined to academic subjects, they should be rather exposed to different experiences that can help build their personality, as food preparation requires a degree of precision and collaboration. Overall, the advantages of these classes overweights the disadvantages.