Essay topics: TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The argument over the use animal to provide food, medicine and clothing have been ongoing for years. Some people considering that killing of animal produce food and other products to be unnecessary. In my view, I agree with this notion and will discuss several compelling reasons in this essay. These days we are facing many public health challenges regarding poor health conditions including cancer and heart disease caused by excessive consumption of meat. Some experts are calling for change in human diet so that people achieve health benefits. Fortunately, many alternative sources of meat product available on the market. In fact, vegetarian diets are being favoured by ever increasing number of people and can provide the same amount of nutrient for consumers. In particular, mushroom and tofu contain high level of protein, a kind of nutrient presumably only found in a meat, and can therefore be used as a substitute. Furthermore, Medical experiment on animals and medicine manufactured from animal’ body parts received little endorsement in the past. Nowadays herbs and other kind of plants are widely used in the medical field, such as sinseng, can cure various diseases, prolong human life expectancy. More seriously, thousands of wild animals, such as tigers and minks, are killed each year, with their fur taken to produce coats and accessories for the industry. There are now similar products made from plants and artificial materials that can fulfil our needs. Animals do not have to suffer for our demands anymore. In conclusion, I think that our needs and desires do not justify the suffering of animals and animal products are no longer necessary. We can choose a different source of nourishment, medicine and clothing without any toll on wild animals.