Essay Question: Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

Most individuals are of the view of that social networking websites like Facebook are tremendously detrimental to the people and the community. In my opinion, I believe that besides the negative impacts of these websites they can be beneficial in some cases also. Using social networking platforms can harm an individual in more than one ways. People, at present, spend too much time surfing these sites and are unable to apply themselves to what is more important, such as work and studies. As a result, the overall productivity of an individual is afflicted which eventually, more often than not, leads to lower job prospects at workplaces and poor grades in academics. Social media platforms can have negative impacts on the society as a whole as well. Social media users of a community are much less concerned about their surroundings and people around them who might be in an immediate need of help. They are living in their own social circle which creates a sense of deprivation among other members of the community. Moreover, these networking sites are often exploited by some extremists who actively launch anti-state campaigns. These are the biggest sources of spreading social unrest within a community. Finally, in my view, these platforms can also be used for the betterment of an individual and the society as a whole. Leading news agencies are linked with these networking sites and users can stay updates of latest news and political developments around the globe. Additionally, as a whole, social activists can start social groups on these websites which are oriented towards the welfare of state and its dwellers. As an example, there are active Facebook groups which aim at the settlement and well-being of new immigrants in Canada. In conclusion, apart from negative effects of social networking platforms, they can also be used constructively for individuals and whole communities.