essay on history or scientific subjects importance

These days, school’s curriculum tries to encompass as many types of studies as possible. While some consider history as the most crucial school subject, others oppose this idea and believe scientific and technological studies to be the better choice for today’s generation. This essay will discuss why such contrasting views are held by people. Even though history comprises of studying the past, it helps children to understand the world better and learn from the mistakes of powerful countries and rulers. The civilizations which shaped us into who we are today is one of the central aspects of studying history, making the young minds aware of our rich history. Furthermore, the wars which transformed our world and are still affecting us in various ways help to analyse the problems and possible loop-holes in certain strategies adopted by the rulers and the governments. For example, the Hiroshima-Nagasika incident provides children with an opportunity to identify the threats and problems associated with nuclear weapons and how war benefits none. On the other hand, technology and science are the most rapidly developing industries today and provide more career opportunities than ever before. Google, one of the biggest companies in the world, provides a huge number of employments to people, this trend, however, is not very conspicuous in other fields such as history and arts. Moreover, a study carried out by some professors in the university of Minnesota has proved that studying science and subjects related to technology, like coding, can help in proper cognitive development of the young brains. This proves to be one of the major reasons why parents urge their children to take a deeper interest in technical studies. To conclude, the debate regarding the dominance of one subject over the other is a long one. However, in my opinion, both the subjects should be given equal importance and the decision to choose either one of them should be left on the kids’ personal interest and natural inclination.