Environmental problems have reached a stage where the only way to solve them is at an international level.

It is believed that international cooperation is of the most importance in dealing with large-scale environmental issues. Personally, I find myself in complete disagreement with this point of view because besides international level, other levels are also worth considering. On the one hand, there is no doubt that significant environmental problems should mainly depend on international cooperation. To begin with, there are some certain global environmental issues taking advantage of distinct strengths and resources of all parties involved. The simple explanation is that these problems are so enormous that there is no way to tackle them without united strength. Global warming, for instance, has been of major concern to human for several years. Thanks to modern technologies of Japan as well as long-term financial support of US, the process of this problem solving could be accelerated. Moreover, the environmental problems make a tremendous impact on not only each country but also others. The severe forest fire happened in Indonesia, which caused air pollution for Vietnam, is a clear example for this. Therefore, the only way to remove the root of the problem is the cooperation among nations. On the other hand, individuals and local government still play indispensable roles in environmental protection. Firstly, there are various actions that each government could take to reduce the damage to the Earth. According to the distinct environmental conditions in different regions, particular government can find practical solutions to these troubles. Besides, local governments can carry out strict laws to punish actions that harm the environment. Secondly, the influence of human on environment should not be ignored. If people weren’t aware of the risks of these problems, our environment would be heavily ruined. Therefore, each individual has to contribute to the preservation of environment. People should, for example, adopt friendly habits such as cycling to reduce harmful fumes releasing into air, using paper bags instead of nylon ones, … In conclusion, my opinion is it unreasonable to weigh up the importance of international cooperation, local government and individuals in tackling environmental issues since they have distinctive features.