Ensuring that children have regular physical exercise should be the responsibility of parents and therefore students should not waste valuable school time having sports lessons as part of the curriculum. To what extent do you agree?

It is believed that mother and father of a child are responsible to maintain his/her physical health, thus educational institutes should not be teaching sports as a subject to avoid wastage of precious school hours. I certainly disagree with this statement because children spend most of their time at school and learn things quickly along with their peers. Firstly, the maximum time of a student is spent in school, therefore, he/she can easily involve in sports activities at school. In other words, students can devote a specific period of time for exercising during school hours because they are at school for more than 7 hours a day. However, parents are mostly working, thus cannot spare enough time to provide physical training sessions to their children everyday. Therefore, it is essential that educational institutes have a compulsory subject on physical education. For instance, according to a recent report, several schools in Australia organise sports meet on every other weekend for their students. Secondly, participation enhances when children are surrounded by pupils of their age. This is to say that a student will indulge in activities that his/her peers are involved in. Moreover, children will take an active part in exercising because they are greatly influenced by their peers. However, creating such an environment by parents at home is not feasible. Therefore, institutes should take the responsibility that children are involved in physical exercise daily. To exemplify, according to a survey conducted by the University of Solan in 2016 in India, 80% of pupils learn new skills at a faster rate in school than at home. In conclusion, I opine against the notion that parents must ensure their children are regularly involved in sports activities and the schools need not to devote time for physical training as a part of the curricula. This is because a child's presence is more at school, and learning is also enhanced in the school atmosphere.