: English is currently known as a lingua franca, and the number of people from different linguistic backgrounds using English to communicate has increased sharply. While many people are against the global spread of English, others think that this can lead to the positive development in various fields. As an English learner, teacher, and user, what do you think about this spread of English?

People hold different opinions about the ever-growing number of people using English as a lingua franca in the age of globalization. While certain individuals are opposed to the global spread of English, others believe that it will lead to positive changes in many aspects of life. In the position of an English learner, teacher and user, I am in favor of the latter viewpoint for the reasons listed below. To begin with, it is English as a worldwide language that gives an extremely helpful support in people’s communication and sharing. As a result of the ability to confidently and articulately interact with people around the world, it is possible for English users to widen their circles of friends and stay connected. Simultaneously, the more opportunities we have to share with others about our unique national traditions and customs, the more likely we are to keep our cultural identity rather than ignore it. Accordingly, our lives will become much more colorful and meaningful to a large extent. Furthermore, the use of English as a common language in such areas as technology or science also enables more open access to a wealth of knowledge. In fact, numerous valuable learning materials in those disciplines are now available in English. Thankfully, a world of countless employment, travel and educational prospects on a worldwide scale will open up in front of those who make mastering English as a universal language a priority. There are still some people who are worried that the extensive use of English as a dominant language in many sectors of society leads to the progressive disappearance of some minority languages. Specifically, that certain cultures’ well-established unique features regarding languages tend to be lost when it comes to employing a global language seems to concern a lot of people. However, I strongly believe that it is not true. Indeed, if goverments and individual join hands and take proper measures, their own cultures will be well-preserved while intergrating into the world community. Consider bilingual youngsters who begin learning English at a young age as an example. It is obvious that English dominates in almost aspects of their life from daily conversation, entertainment to learning at school from scratch. Nevetherless, it is parents who take the lead in communicating with children in their mother tongues on a daily basis. As a result, children’s strong affinities to their national languages seem to be well-established. To sum up, as everything has been stated sofar, I do believe that English as a lingua franca has generated far-reaching effects on a wide range of areas. It is likely that its popularity and demand will grow much more in the future.