English is a compulsory subject for all learners at different levels

Nowadays, English is a compulsory subject for all learners at different levels. However, English learners are sometimes confused about whether they should use British English or American English in speaking and writing. Although American and British English have some differences in usages, spelling, and pronunciations, they are considered to convey the same meaning. Both British English and American English have some spelling differences. For example, British English spelled "burnt", -t, but American English spelled "burned", -ed. Furthermore, there are several diverse vocabularies. Instead of using "trousers" and "lift", American English has used "pants" and "elevator". In addition, some of the British English and American English grammar is also used differently. In fact, British English is more likely to use formal speech such as "shall", whereas American English prefers to use informal such as "will" or "should". Briefly, learners choose to use British English or American English as they can be widely used understood by English learners