As a student who currently study English major at university

As a student who currently study English major at university, I have interact with both American English and British English on a daily basic. There are indeed a lot of differences in two languages. Firstly, spelling is one thing that people find quite interesting in two languages. In British English, the word 'colour' is spell with a 'u' but in American English is spell without the 'u'. Sometime you can type the right word in American English but wrong word in British English. Secondly, pronunciation is one of the biggest difference in two languages. People who speak in British English sometime sound more posh and more elegant compare to American English. You can immediately heard the difference in the accents. American English sometimes stress difference than Brititsh English. The stress in 'weekend' fall in the end in British English but it fall in the the first syllable in American English. Lastly, vocabulary differences is also something you have to be careful when you speak. There are some word in Britsh English that just mean another things American English. For example: chips in British English mean french fries but in American English is mean potato chips. When you search some word in the dictionary, you need to check both meaning in two language. It can be hard to understand British English when you are used to American English but when you paid attention you can tell that there are quite similar too. The difference in two language is what make they so unique