Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Other disagrees. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this world of globalization, companies have started recruiting from all over the world and locally to maintain proper amount of balance in their work force. While doing so, they probe candidates for their personal information like their likes, interests and if they are married or not while application process. Some people believe that it should not be employer’s business while others think that there is no harm in doing this as it fetch few benefits too. This essay will discuss both the views and will convey my opinion on the same. First and foremost, by discussing over personal hobbies of the potential employee, employer can make out whether or not candidate will be able to fit in that particular role. For instance, having interest of creating derivative strategies can be a useful skill in the profile of fundamental analyst. This clearly gives HR managers an upper hand while taking the decision on the selection of interviewees which ultimately can result into significant part of their workforce. On the other hand, exchanging words about personal hobbies of people sometimes can offense them on some juncture of their discussion. For instance, huge proportion of the population is believer of mythology and detail discussion or disagreement on few facts could lead to religious controversy and subsequently result into unnecessary issue. To sum up, while some people believe that employer’s questions which lead to personal information like hobbies could result into conflicts, others say it is totally fine as it brings a lot of benefits. In my opinion, benefits of probing on personal interest front outweigh its drawbacks and organization should continue doing this.