Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this Information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays many job applications include specific part for personal interests and marital status. Although some people believe this could be irrelevant or misleading, others think it could be useful for the employer and employees. It is by no means clear that which group are correct as we would see in this essay. On the one hand, personal privacy is a hot topic, and many individuals urge respect to that. Firstly, personal questions asked at interviews may discomfort a candidate for a reason, which could possibly lead to a poor performance. For example, a person with background of marital problems and divorce could be easily distracted from the interview and the position with related questions. Furthermore, off-topic questions could create a misjudgment for the interviewer. Therefore, the company could miss many bight and potential candidates because of an irrelevant question. On the other hand, this information would be valuable for both the company and future employee. Using statistics of these questionnaires, managers could plan for perks more effectively. For instance, if watching movies is a popular hobby in a department, managers could set regular movie nights for them to improve motivation. Moreover, it could help to reduce the stress level in a actual interview. These are the topics a person would discuss it with his/her friend, thus answering to them may help some people to eliminate the stress. For example, questions about video games and movies could be enjoyable to some and assist to break the ice during the interview. In conclusion, while many are against including personal questions in applications because of wrong judgment and discomfort it can cause, some people, including myself, support this idea because it could help some candidates to overcome overwhelming situation of interview and the company's output in the long term.