Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some say that this information may be related and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether an employer should inquire about personal information of applicants or not. While some believe that asking about this information such as their likes, dislikes, or material status in a job application is beneficial and relevant, I agree with those opposing this view. Those contending that requiring a job applicant to provide personal information is justifiable have their own reasons. Such information, first, will lead to higher level of output in a business: for an applicant whose hobby is playing basketball a bright prospective occupation could be blue-collar jobs like working in a factory or on a construction site which are physically demanding. Matching their interests with their tasks at workplaces make staff more effective at work. This might, similarly, help an employer select right candidates, and match them with right opportunity. Knowing about marital status of those seeking a job, the employers will realize how much time these applicants will be able to allocate their work. If an employer is looking to hire an air hostess supposed to work odd hours and even on weekends, it does not make sense for them to hire a woman with young kids. Having said that, I am still convinced that these details are useless and irrelevant. During hiring process, what makes a candidate front-runner is their qualifications not their personal lives. The better-educated applicants are, the more chance they will have to be recruited, meaning a position would be offered on the basis of the candidates' ability. These personal questions could, furthermore, be both intrusive into the privet lives of applicants and biased. Everybody has their boundaries. Hardly do applicants feel comfortable, when an employer transgress these boundaries, as many of them feel like employers can take advantages of their information. Many employers, for instance, will be reluctant to hire the married candidate, since the unmarried counterparts will have more freedom to do graveyard shifts and work on weekends. To conclude, despite some benefits of collecting personal information of job candidates, I clearly believe that not only would querying about this datum be ineffective, but it can also bother the applicant due to its biased and intrusive nature.