Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Nowadays, candidates are asked to fill the personal detsils coloumn in the job application forms. Few sections in the society argue that filling these coloumns could be vital and beneficial; however, other group believe it is irrelevant. In my opinion, filling up such informations are necessary to pick out a better applicant. In the following essay will discuss, why these coloumns are said to be important and why some oppose the same. Asking the job applicants to fill up the personal details section on the application forms are considered to be the vital part in judgeing their personalities. This is due to the fact that, these sections can help understand the time management skills and leadership quality of the employees. Consequently, the candidates with these qualities can benefit the candidate to outstand from the co-applicants. For instance, in an application form, if a person give garden as his hobby, this can give impression on the employer that he is good at managing his duties, and because of that he extra time for such hobbies. In this way giving personal details can be considered as relevant in job forms. On the other hand, these personal sections in the forms can adversly affect the selection process. This is because, work nature varies from each job to job; moreover, in some workplaces the workers are asked stay back in the office to achieve the target. Hence, employers themselves may sometimes come to the wrong conclusion about the availabilities and unavailabilies of the employees. For instance, . If a women fills the martial status coloumn as married, then the employers themselves may come to an conclusion regarding her time of work. With this her chances of getting this job is hopeless. In my perspective, the negative effects of these details on the forms are always a minority. However, the advantages of such coloumns in the forms are seen most of the times. These informations, can aid in character assessments, their interpersonal skills and perfectional qualities. In conclusion, there are two categories of people who argue on the personal coloumns in the job forms. I opine that these details could help an individual to attain a good job offer, so it is always co sidered as relevant rather than going with the other category who think these are irrelevant.