Employers should focus on personal qualities instead of qualifications and experience when choosing someone for a job.

Many people insist that companies should pay greater attention to the personal characteristics of candidates than their professional competence. I can only partially agree with this view, because both job qualifications and personality traits are equally important for a person to be successful in a job. In this essay, I will substantiate my view. On the one hand, there is increased competition among the companies these days. In order to deliver the best results to their customers, organizations are after the most talented individuals. As such, professional expertise is undoubtedly vital for the people hired. The lack of sufficient job knowledge creates inequality between employees, and it will be an overhead for the corporate as well as the deserving candidates. If less skilled individuals are hired, many bright minds miss the opportunity. Likewise, companies incur huge losses when they waste money on unskilled staff. On the other hand, there are several other aspects which are as crucial as the qualifications. Firstly, no one wishes to work with an unfriendly, selfish and arrogant person, who never applauds others’ success. By contrast, recruiting sociable, transparent and humorous team-players build cohesion in workplace. Secondly, they should be dynamic, adaptable and willing to learn new things. Even if job-aspirants are less skilled as per the job requirements but if they are enthusiastic with a strong desire to learn, they will surely be an asset to the company. Global behemoths such as Amazon and Google have an interview known as “leadership principle round” that assesses the candidates’ ability to work under pressure and their adaptability to the organizational work culture. Likewise, the human resource team collects information such as family background and hobbies of the interviewees as they give a glimpse of the character of their prospective employees. In conclusion, I firmly believe that relevant academic qualifications and work experience help a person to work to the best of their ability. However, personal traits cannot be ignored as team work is the norm in most workplaces.