Advertising targeted at children will bring negative effects on the young,

In the highly modernized world of today, information about one’s culture and history can be available at the click of the mouse. Given the easy accessibility to online content, it is often argued that museums are no longer required to make people aware of their rich historical culture. I deny this aspect, because despite the information revolution museums still remain an integral part of the nation’s infrastructure for the reasons elucidated below. To begin with, museums provide a lifetime experience for people to enjoy and relish. The online photographs and content fail to generate that excitement among the readers who just passively grasp the information provided thereon. The visit to any cultural site gets imprinted in the minds of the visitors which tend to remain there throughout their lifetime. Also, the information available on the website is often not authentic, thus, making it a doubtful resource to rely upon. On the other hand, the museums are built after a thorough research conducted by the renowned researchers, historians and government agencies. Moreover, because museums have remained a source of ancient culture and history, thus provides valuable knowledge to the youngsters. Although it is always believed that books are the greatest source of history, but visiting such museums leaves real remarks on the visitors. For example, the weapons linked to the wars used during the king’s empire available in the museum can be investigated to know about their real design. Lastly, these works of art to help people improve their quality of life by providing them employment. For instance, Virasat-e-Khalsa a museum in India depicting rich Sikh history, provides employment to around 2000 residents living in the Anandpur City. Furthermore, the government earns a huge amount of its revenue from the fee that is collected from the visitors who pay a visit to the place. The income, thus generated, is used to finance other welfare activities, develop infrastructure and provide basic amenities. A report by Punjab government stated that “Sada Punjab” at Amritsar, enabled government to garner around rupees 50 lacs during the first three months of its opening. In conclusion, the importance of museums cannot be denied on the account of the experience, thrill and excitement they add as well as the contribution they make towards the country’s economic development.