People sleep less than before. Why? And what are the effects of this?

Nowadays, our sleeping patterns have changed and we sleep fewer than our ancestors. I personally believe it is due to increasing workload and digital era besides this disturbance in our sleep cycle is the major cause of fatigue and less productivity in our daily life. To begin with, the competitive and hectic lifestyle of modern days requires an immense amount of work. As the unemployment rate is getting high, people are afraid of being kicked out of the company if they do not perform well. So, in this tense environment, a person has to work more even has to sacrifice his sleep for the sake of the task. For instance, if a project was assigned to an employee then to meet the deadlines, he may end up working all day and night long losing his sleep just to finish the project and save his job. Unfortunately, this trend has an adverse effect on a human’s health and it can cause tiredness and low productivity. As our brain requires rest and a person who did not sleep well will not be able to perform his duties well at the office. In a recent study of a basketball team, a couch measured the sleeping hours of the team members and he found out players who slept for eight hours performed well in the match than those who only slept for only six hours. In conclusion, after looking at why people sleep less and what problems this cause, it is hoped governments around the globe will launch worldwide campaigns to educate the public about the importance of adequate sleep.