Employers now tend to prefer employees with good social skills in addi- hon to good qualifications, Social skills are getting more and more impor- tant compared to qualifications.

It is indeed a fact that the world is getting smaller with the help of technology and the need of the hour is not only adequate qualification but also the ability to present ideas in a convincing manner and establish good relationships. In such a situation, social skills hold supreme importance. Companies are doing nothing wrong if they give equal impor- sance to social skills and qualifications. There are abundant reasons why social skills are getting more and more important. Firstly, irrespective of the type of industry, today's corporate world is completely interde- pendent i. e. all workers have to rely on others in order to complete their tasks success- tully. Here, employees with good interpersonal skills come out as winners in most situa- tons. Secondly, businesses today demand lots of communication amongst each other, with higher management and with people connected to the company. Better group skills wil enhance smoother functioning and will result in better efficacy of the organisation. Lastly, public skills are extremely important to establish a trusting client base and there- fore there is no doubt that a person having good communicative skills performs better han other employees. On the other hand, some might say that academic skills are extremely important and oud be given top priority while hiring someone. They believe that it's the technical owiedge and qualification that makes someone eligible for the job. They also add that n with only civil skills may harm others and the profitability of the company in eless conversations. In conclusion, I fully agree with the notion that the trend is shifting towards appointing people with greater social skills though the importance of educational qualification can- not be undermined. One without the other cannot deliver results.